Frequently Asked Questions
Memory Mark, Inc.
P.O. Box 1706
Vernal, UT 84078
Memory Mark, Inc.
P.O. Box 1706
Vernal, UT 84078
Q: How is my information protected?
A: Your security is our primary concern. We have spent 6 years developing the security features of Memory Mark®. Memory Mark® uses dual layers of encryption to keep your precious information safe, secure and locked up tight.
Memory Mark® uses 256-bit encryption, which is virtually impossible to be broken by even the fastest computers. 256-bit is the same level of encryption required by the U.S. Government when transferring sensitive, financial, or military information.
First, the data you enter is encrypted using an algorithm and an encryption key. This process generates ciphertext that can only be viewed in its original form if decrypted with the correct key.
What this means is: in most cases (such as typical cloud storage, an online banking server, and even the IRS), after encryption the information is stored on a server as text. This is like leaving notes in a locked room: if someone unlocks the room, all of the information is just waiting there, available to be read and copied.
Our security has been developed to an entirely new level:
With Memory Mark®, the next level of encryption occurs on the server. Even if the first encryption key were decoded, your data stored on the server is protected by a secondary level of encryption. In other words, even the notes in your room are scrambled and protected from any prying eyes.
Q: Where is my information kept?
A: The storm server system that we use is a combination of virtual storage on the cloud as well as actual servers in concrete buildings manned 24-7 365 days a year, with their own backup generators so loss of power will never be an issue. It is the #1 managed cloud company.
Q: Am I signing a contract?
A: No. When you sign up for an account, your coverage will renew automatically unless you cancel. With monthly billing, you may terminate the account at any time before the next month is billed. If you choose annual billing, you may terminate your account at any time before the anniversary of the day you joined. However, you will not be reimbursed if you terminate before the billing period is complete.
Q: What happens if I miss a payment or need to change my payment details?
A: Life happens, credit cards expire and accounts get changed. Because of this, you will receive a notice if your payment does not go through to call it to your attention. You will have a grace period of 30 days to notify us and get your account up to date. After 30 days your account will be locked. If payment is not received after 6 months your information will be deleted.
Q: Will the price increase on me?
A: No. The price you pay when you sign up is locked in for as long as you keep your account. However, the price will increase for new users as more Memory Mark® features are completed. This is a great reason to encourage your friends and family to sign up early!
Q: I signed up for monthly billing. What day will the fee be drafted from my account?
A: The monthly draft date is based on the date that you signed up for an account. For example, if you signed up for monthly billing on September 13th, then your billing will occur on the 13th of each month (or the closest business day after the 13th). If you sign up for annual billing, billing will occur each year on the anniversary of your sign-up date.
Q: Can my spouse and I share the same Memory Mark® account?
A: We recommend each user having his or her own personal account to protect his/her private information.
Q: What happens if my password is lost or stolen?
A: Passwords are easy to reset by following the forgot password link. We recommend resetting your password every 6 months.
Q: Who can see my information?
A: You determine who can see your information, and when. By default, all features are private from other users. In the Connections feature, you have the option to allow other users access to one or all features. For example, you may choose to allow all of your family members to view your Photos, but only allow one or two to see your Journal. You have complete control over your privacy.
Q: Can Memory Mark® administrators see my private information?
A: No. The only information available to any Memory Mark® administrator or personnel is your username, email address, and the date you signed up. Because of the secondary layer of encryption, Memory Mark® staff cannot see your private information.
Q: Will you sell my information?
Q: What happens to my information if I cancel my account?
A: 30 days after cancellation, your account will be locked. If payment is not received within 6 months your information will be deleted.
Q: What happens to my information when I pass away?
A: Through our Connections feature, you have the ability to select individuals to receive your important information upon your death. A death certificate must be obtained to verify before your information can be released.
Q: Can I buy more storage space?
A: Yes, as more features become available, you will be able to purchase more storage space for your memories, documents and family videos.
Q: How can I access my information during an internet outage or natural disaster?
A: We advise that you have at least one emergency contact, whom you have given access to your account through the Connections feature, who lives in another geographic location. You will be then be able to relay information through them until internet in your area is restored.
For more information about how you can prepare for an emergency, please visit http://www.ready.gov/make-a-plan
Q: How do I get a hard copy of my documents if I need them? For example, a DNR.
A: Once your documents are uploaded into the secure Vault, you can access them via your account at any time. They remain yours to print and copy for your personal use.
Q: What is your referral program?
A: If you love our product and would like to share it with others, you can request a referral code or get information about our sales team by emailing us at email@example.com.